Debt Consolidation Loan Real Savings Math: What You Actually Save in 2026

This article is educational and is not financial advice; unless a different year is noted inline, all rate and balance figures reflect 2026 data from the Federal Reserve, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York, and published lender disclosures.

TL;DR — Quick Verdict

  • The Federal Reserve’s G.19 release for May 2026 puts the average APR on credit card accounts assessed interest at 22.15% and the average 24-month personal loan rate at commercial banks at 11.86% — a spread of 10.29 percentage points.
  • On $18,000 of card debt, minimum payments at 22.15% cost roughly $30,941 in interest over about 297 months. A 36-month consolidation loan at 11.86% costs $3,480. That is a modeled difference of $27,461.
  • Origination fees erase more savings than borrowers expect: a 6.99% fee on an $18,000 payoff means borrowing $19,353, adding $1,353 to the principal before a single interest dollar accrues.
  • Stretching the same 11.86% loan from 36 to 84 months cuts the payment from $596.65 to $316.40 but raises total interest from $3,480 to $8,578 — a 147% increase in interest cost.
  • Consolidation wins decisively when your loan APR is at least 6 points below your card APR, the term is 36–48 months, and the origination fee stays under 3%. Below that threshold, run the numbers before signing.

Americans owe $1.25 trillion on credit cards, according to the Federal Reserve Bank of New York’s Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit for the first quarter of 2026. The same report found that 8.6% of card balances transitioned into delinquency over the trailing year. Behind those aggregates sits a specific arithmetic problem: a borrower paying 22.15% on a revolving balance and paying only the minimum will spend roughly 25 years and about $30,941 in interest to clear $18,000.

Consolidation lenders — LightStream, SoFi, Best Egg, Upgrade, Happy Money — market themselves as the fix. Sometimes they are. Often the advertised savings figure assumes a rate you will not receive, ignores an origination fee of up to 9.99%, and quietly extends your repayment horizon by three years. This article models the actual cash difference across four credit tiers and two loan terms, shows where fee drag reverses the math, and identifies the specific conditions under which consolidation stops being worth it.

What the Rate Spread Actually Looks Like in 2026

Two numbers from the Federal Reserve’s G.19 Consumer Credit release for May 2026 define the entire opportunity. Credit card accounts assessed interest carried an average APR of 22.15%. Twenty-four-month personal loans at commercial banks averaged 11.86%. That 10.29-point gap is the raw material of every consolidation pitch.

But 11.86% is a commercial bank average, weighted toward borrowers who walk into a branch with an established relationship and strong credit. Online lenders price differently. Bankrate’s July 2026 rate monitor puts the typical personal loan APR range at 8% to 36%, with an average of 12.16%. NerdWallet reports that borrowers with good credit who prequalified through its platform over a recent 30-day window received an average debt consolidation APR of 18.67% — nearly seven points above the Fed’s bank average. The personal loan APR data by credit score explains why: tier pricing compresses hard at the top and spreads violently at the bottom.

Lender
Advertised APR range
Min. score
Origination fee

LightStream
6.49%–24.89%
700
None

Axos
8.24%–18.99%
730
Not disclosed

SoFi
6.99%–35.49%
Not disclosed
Varies by offer

Best Egg
6.99%–35.99%
600
0.99%–9.99%

Upgrade
7.74%–35.99%
580
1.85%–9.99%

Happy Money
7.95%–35.99%
620
Varies by offer

Prosper
8.99%–35.99%
660
Varies by offer

Lender APR ranges and minimum credit scores as published by Credible, updated June 2026; origination fee ranges from lender disclosures published by Experian and NerdWallet, 2026. Verify current terms at credible.com and experian.com.

Notice the shape of the table. The lenders with no origination fee — LightStream, Axos — also carry the highest minimum credit scores. Fee-charging lenders accept scores down to 580. That is not a coincidence; it is risk pricing expressed as a fee rather than a rate, which matters enormously for the math below. Anyone comparing offers should read the origination fees and true APR calculation before treating advertised rates as comparable.

The $18,000 Model: Four Credit Tiers, Two Terms

Assume a borrower carrying $18,000 across three cards at the national average of 22.15%. Paying interest plus 1% of principal each month — the standard minimum formula at most major issuers — clears the balance in roughly 297 months at a total cost of about $48,941. Interest alone: $30,941.

Now model consolidation at four representative APRs, with fee assumptions that reflect the tier. Fee-charging lenders deduct the fee from proceeds, so a borrower who needs $18,000 in hand must borrow more. At a 6.99% fee, that means originating $19,353 to receive $18,000.

Loan APR / fee
Term
Monthly payment
Total cost of credit
Saved vs. minimums

11.86% / no fee
36 mo
$596.65
$3,480
$27,461

15.90% / no fee
36 mo
$631.94
$4,750
$26,191

19.90% / 4.99% fee
36 mo
$703.11
$7,312
$23,629

24.80% / 6.99% fee
36 mo
$767.42
$9,627
$21,314

11.86% / no fee
60 mo
$399.13
$5,948
$24,993

24.80% / 6.99% fee
60 mo
$565.76
$15,946
$14,995

Original amortization modeling by Real Cost Report. Baseline card APR of 22.15% from Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, May 2026. Total cost of credit equals total payments minus the $18,000 payoff amount, inclusive of origination fee where charged.

Even the worst row on that table beats minimum payments by roughly $15,000. That is the honest case for consolidation, and it is strong. The subtler finding is the spread within the table: the gap between the best and worst outcome is $12,466, driven almost entirely by APR tier and term length rather than by anything the borrower can negotiate after approval. Borrowers with damaged credit should compare these figures against subprime personal loan APR ranges before assuming approval means a good deal.

Where the Savings Number Lies to You

Lender calculators produce large savings figures by comparing a consolidation loan to a minimum-payment scenario. That comparison is rigged, because almost nobody considering a consolidation loan is actually paying minimums. If you can afford a $596.65 loan payment, you could have directed $596.65 at your cards instead.

Model that honestly. Paying a fixed $565.76 per month against $18,000 at 22.15% clears the debt in 49 months at a total cost of $27,375 — meaning $9,375 in interest. The equivalent 60-month loan at 24.80% with a 6.99% fee costs $15,946. In that head-to-head, the consolidation loan is $6,571 worse than simply making the same payment to the credit cards.

The reversal happens because the fee-and-rate combination at the subprime tier does not clear the card rate by enough to overcome the extended term. Consolidation is not magic; it is rate arbitrage, and arbitrage requires a real spread. The relevant comparison is not loan-versus-minimums. It is loan-versus-the-same-payment-applied-directly, which is the framework laid out in our personal loan vs credit card interest comparison.

36 Months vs 60 Months: Which Is Better for a $18,000 Balance?

Term length is the single largest lever a borrower controls after the rate is set, and it moves in the opposite direction from monthly affordability. At 11.86% with no origination fee, the three options diverge sharply.

Term
Monthly payment
Total cost of credit
Trade-off

36 mo
$596.65
$3,480
Cheapest total cost; highest payment burden and least budget slack

60 mo
$399.13
$5,948
$197.52 lower payment costs an extra $2,468 in interest

84 mo
$316.40
$8,578
Lowest payment; 147% more interest than the 36-month term

Original amortization modeling by Real Cost Report on an $18,000 principal at 11.86% APR, no origination fee. Rate benchmark: Federal Reserve G.19 Consumer Credit, May 2026 release.

Verdict

Take the 36-month term if the payment fits inside your budget with at least 15% margin. It costs $3,480 versus $5,948 at 60 months — a $2,468 saving for the same rate and principal. Choose 60 months only when the shorter payment would force you back onto the cards you just paid off, which is the failure mode that turns consolidation into additive debt. Treat 84 months as a last resort: at $8,578 in interest, it surrenders 60% of the arbitrage advantage that made consolidation attractive.

What Most People Get Wrong

Five errors account for most of the destroyed value in consolidation transactions. Each one is avoidable with a spreadsheet and twenty minutes.

Comparing interest rate instead of APR

Mistake: Choosing a 15.63% offer with an 8.99% origination fee over a 17.5% offer with no fee. Consequence: The first loan carries an effective APR above 20% once the fee is amortized. Experian’s published example shows a 15.63% rate with an 8.99% fee producing a 20.02% APR on a five-year $10,000 loan. Correct action: Compare only the APR figure, which by Regulation Z must fold the origination fee into the disclosed rate.

Treating the loan as new spending capacity

Mistake: Paying off cards, then leaving them open and active without a spending plan. Consequence: The borrower carries a $19,353 installment loan plus a rebuilt card balance within eighteen months. Correct action: Use a lender that pays creditors directly — Happy Money, Achieve, and Upgrade all offer this, often with a rate discount attached.

Applying to six lenders in six weeks

Mistake: Spreading hard inquiries across a long shopping window. Consequence: Multiple separate inquiries rather than a single deduplicated event, plus a higher likelihood of a decline that shrinks the option set. Correct action: Prequalify with soft pulls first, then submit hard applications inside a compressed window. If a denial comes back, our guide to loan denial reasons and next steps covers the recovery path.

Ignoring what the loan does to the payoff date

Mistake: Refinancing an $18,000 balance that would have been cleared in 30 months into a 60-month loan because the payment is lower. Consequence: Thirty additional months of interest accrual on a balance that was already shrinking. Correct action: Calculate your current payoff date at your actual payment level, not the minimum, and reject any loan term that extends it.

Overlooking exit costs

Mistake: Assuming every personal loan can be paid off early without penalty. Consequence: A borrower who receives a bonus and wants to retire the loan early finds the saving partially clawed back. Correct action: Confirm the terms; most major online lenders charge nothing, but the field is not uniform, and prepayment penalties by lender vary more than advertising suggests.

Is Consolidation Worth It for You?

Three conditions determine the answer, and they are testable before you apply.

Condition one — the spread. Your quoted APR must sit at least 6 percentage points below your weighted average card APR. Against the 22.15% national average, that means an offer at or below 16.15%. Below a 6-point spread, fee drag and term extension consume most of the gain.

Condition two — the fee. Keep the origination fee under 3%. On an $18,000 payoff, a 3% fee adds $557 to the principal; a 9.99% fee adds $1,998. If your only approvals carry fees near the top of the 0.99%–9.99% range published by lenders like Best Egg, you are being priced as a high-risk borrower, and the arbitrage may not survive.

Condition three — the term discipline. Choose the shortest term whose payment you can sustain for the full duration. A borrower who takes 60 months and pays it off in 40 captures most of the 36-month advantage. A borrower who takes 36 months and misses payments captures none of it.

Homeowners have a fourth path worth pricing: the NY Fed reported HELOC limits rose $14 billion, or 1.4%, in the first quarter of 2026, and secured rates typically undercut unsecured ones. The trade-off is collateral risk on your residence, laid out in our personal loan vs HELOC cost comparison. Borrowers currently servicing high-cost short-term credit face a much clearer decision — the spread against a payday loan vs personal loan true costs comparison is wide enough that almost any installment loan improves the position. Anyone shopping the mainstream market should start with a personal loan lender comparison rather than a single application, and applicants with thin files may need a co-signer risks and rate benefits assessment to reach the qualifying tier at all.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a debt consolidation loan hurt my credit score?

Expect a short-term dip from the hard inquiry and the new account’s zero payment history. The offsetting effect is larger for most borrowers: paying off revolving balances collapses your credit utilization ratio, which carries more weight in scoring models than a single new installment account. The New York Fed’s Q1 2026 report found 8.6% of card balances transitioning into delinquency annually — and delinquency damages scores far more than a consolidation inquiry does.

Why is my quoted APR so much higher than the Fed’s 11.86% average?

The Federal Reserve’s 11.86% figure covers 24-month personal loans at commercial banks, weighted toward established borrowers with strong credit. Online lenders price across a much wider band — Bankrate’s July 2026 monitor shows a typical range of 8% to 36%. NerdWallet reported that good-credit borrowers prequalifying on its platform received an average of 18.67%. Your quote reflects your tier, not the national average.

Should I close my credit cards after consolidating?

Closing them shortens your average account age and reduces total available credit, both of which can lower your score. The practical compromise is to keep the two oldest accounts open with a small recurring charge on autopay, and remove the rest from your wallet and stored payment profiles. The behavioral risk is real: consolidation only works if the paid-off balances stay at zero.

How large a loan can I realistically get?

Published maximums run from $33,000 at LendingPoint to $100,000 at LightStream and SoFi, with BHG Financial advertising up to $250,000. Approval amounts depend on income and debt-to-income ratio, not just the advertised ceiling. For context, TransUnion put the average unsecured personal loan balance at $11,676 in the second quarter of 2025; a 2026-specific figure was not available at publication.

How We Researched This Article

Rate benchmarks come from the Federal Reserve Board’s G.19 Consumer Credit release for May 2026, published July 8, 2026. We used two series from the Terms of Credit table: commercial bank credit card plans for accounts assessed interest (22.15%) and 24-month personal loans at commercial banks (11.86%). The G.19 methodology note specifies that personal loan rates are simple unweighted averages of each reporting bank’s most common rate during the first calendar week of the middle month of the quarter — meaning they represent bank pricing, not the fintech lenders most consolidation borrowers use. We flag that limitation explicitly rather than presenting the figure as a market-wide rate.

Balance and delinquency data come from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York’s Quarterly Report on Household Debt and Credit for the first quarter of 2026, released May 12, 2026, which is built from the New York Fed Consumer Credit Panel using Equifax data. Lender APR ranges, minimum credit scores, and origination fee schedules were taken from lender disclosures published by Credible (updated June 15, 2026) and Experian, cross-checked against NerdWallet and Bankrate rate monitors dated July 2026.

Every dollar figure in the tables is modeled, not measured. We amortized a fixed $18,000 principal using the standard annuity formula, treating origination fees as an increase to the amount financed rather than an out-of-pocket cost, because lenders deduct them from proceeds. The minimum-payment baseline assumes interest plus 1% of principal with a $25 floor, which approximates but does not replicate any specific issuer’s formula — actual issuer minimums vary, and a borrower’s real payoff timeline will differ. Modeled results also assume no missed payments, no rate changes on variable card APRs, and no additional card spending. Real outcomes will diverge from all three assumptions.

One figure could not be verified for 2026: TransUnion’s average unsecured personal loan balance. The most recent figure located was $11,676 for the second quarter of 2025, and it is labeled with that year wherever it appears. Research was last conducted in July 2026. All figures were verified against named primary sources before publication.